Before you’re perfect…

10 01 2011

I had to sing for someone on Saturday and it was a bit freaky. I have this problem where I want to somehow want to be perfect before I perform for anyone. Which is ridiculous as I’m never going to be perfect, and I will never get better unless I perform for people! Has anyone else had this issue? Not just with performing but with maybe sharing your work?  Techniques for overcoming it? Suggestions?

Oh boy, I keep getting fabulous links to things that I want to share! For everyone who has had a bad audition. 12 Bad Auditions: (there’s a wee bit of swearing at the end).

Jenny Neale, Ryan Murray, Jen Mintzer, Michael Diliberto, Shanna Lesniak and Ariela Morgenstern perform “12 Bad Auditions” at “Exposed: The Songs of Andrew Byrne.” The concert took place on Sunday, October 5th at 8PM at the Zipper Theater. (lyrics by Andrew Byrne and Mark Blankenship)

I can relate to a few of these.

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 01 2011
Sass

I don’t tend to worry about being perfect before a performance because I’m keen to get people to see and appreciate my awesomeness. It’s only afterwards that i have to pick it pieces;) Anyway, awesomeness is not about being perfect; embrace the inner awesome Reggles”

16 02 2011
Jenni

Finally got around to watching this video, it’s hilarious. I especially love the second guy and the Too Short girl.

“Don’t fucking touch me!”

20 06 2012
fluentinmusic

Here’s a way to get some practice in at home.. You are absolutely right!!! You have to dig much further to find the right teacher… While you are looking for the perfect mentor you can try this Click Here!

Leave a Reply

