Singing concert reflections

24 06 2010

Tonight my singing teacher had her end of term concert. I think she had about 27 performers all up, which is huge! And the audience was large too!

I sang ‘Silent Noon’ by Ralph Vaughan Williams which I learned a while ago. It’s a beautiful piece, but boy singing was a struggle tonight. Like an actual struggle. I felt like I was fighting myself the whole song. Interesting and new experience for a performance. I feel OK with it, partly because I *did* struggle through to the end, but hopefully without showing the audience I was struggling. (At least on my face – I’m sure they could hear it in parts, but the performance is the thing!) I started out like a breathy 13 year old – argh, but then fought back and was moderately pleased with the last third of the song. I was really glad that I fought the nerves, and don’t think they showed. There will always be nerves. But I can deal with them.

I had a lovely compliment from an audience member (someone’s mum!) before the concert – she asked my name and said how glad she was I was singing because I have a lovely voice and every time she comes to a concert she knows I will sing something beautiful. Joy! That made my night.  🙂 If you ever wonder if you should compliment a performer, even if you don’t know them? DO. ALWAYS DO. We’re fragile little butterflies who need your support!

I need to sing in front of people more. Maybe I will co-opt a craft afternoon sometime and share my *craft* by forcing people to listen to me sing one song? I’ll bring cake too!!

Off early tomorrow for a girly weekend in Sydney. I’ll leave you with a beautiful piece of music. What will it be? Music roulette!

No I know, the Sanctus from Faure’s Messe Basse. We’ll be singing this in choir in a month or so. Just let the sound wash over you and drift away…

Actions

Information

3 responses

24 06 2010
Giffy

Yay for Compliments!!

24 06 2010
sok

You know what I’m talking about! 🙂 Unsolicited performance compliments are the best!

25 06 2010
Sass

It feels like it’s been ages since I’ve got to see/hear a Reggles perform:( Maybe I could start a fb group for your fans?;p

Leave a Reply

