I have good reasons for not blogging about singing!!

13 02 2010

And these reasons are as follows:

  • ACTUALLY singing
  • rehearsals!
  • Having a muscle spasm in my lower back which made sitting painful

Of these three reasons, the first one is probably the one I’m most proud of – it’s the only one that I could have easily weaseled out of.  I sang a song the other day at a singing lesson, (The Singer) and had one of those moments where I was pleased with the voice coming out of my mouth. Most of the time when singing you just focus on what you could be doing better – is the support there? Argh too much breath, oops, not enough…etc. Now I’m not saying there was nothing I could have done better, but it felt like a turning point for me, where I really heard myself, and accepted it, and enjoyed the sound I was making for most of the song – not just moments here and there.

I’m also thinking of doing a singing exam in August from the ABRSM. Singing teacher suggested it, and it gives me another goal to aim for. It’s always easier to achieve things with a specific goal in mind. Also NEW SONGS WOO! Not sure what grade or anything to go for, will discuss with teacher and let you know!  It’s a while since I’ve done exams, I think I did my Grade 6 piano in 1998? Then I stopped learning piano.

Which reminds me that I’m thinking of taking it up again. That, or another instrument. I’ve always wanted to try the violin! But maybe I should stick to instruments I actually own. Guitar or piano would be good. I’m of two minds. I lean more towards guitar for accompanying myself singing, but then I would love to be more technically proficient on the piano, so I can play more amazing music.

Have I linked to my favourite piano piece of all time yet? Probably not. Is it 12 minutes long? YES. Is it worth it? OH HELL YES.

Here: Mark Andre Hamelin playing Liszt’s Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 in C# minor.

If you can find a recording of Olga Kern playing it,  have a listen. I prefer her version – probably one of the best I’ve ever heard. 🙂

(NB: I would not be able to play this even after two million years of piano. Good lord it’s difficult.)

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 02 2010
Miriama gemmell

hey r,
awesome piece, didn’t know it.
mine – emperor’s symph by ludwig 🙂
keep up the good work singer!

13 02 2010
sok

Ohh yay emperor! Yep, pretty damn good too!

13 02 2010
Kate

Haha, yes! Actually singing is better than merely blogging about singing ❤

Leave a Reply

