Eugene Onegin

15 10 2009

I went to the NBR production of Eugene Onegin tonight at the St James theatre. I was expecting a good night, as all the reviews so far have been very positive.

I was not disappointed! The sets, and the changes of sets were amazing. At one point some very tall thin tree trunks that stretched from stage to the flies rose up as a wooden frame descended and I was mesmerised! When a scene change manages to transfix you, you know it’s going to be a good show. Unless of course a scene change actually transfixed you – like poked you with a big spear of wood and pinned you to your seat. That would be bad. huh. Transfixed is an interesting word…you knew what I meant right?

The leads were all very good, Anna Leese played Tatyana. She’s a kiwi soprano and she was beautiful. Her control in both the loud and quiet passages was remarkable, and she has a very clear and vibrant voice – very enjoyable to listen to. She’s also an excellent actress! And she’s younger than me! I die of envy, and am looking forward to seeing her in more things.

The boys (Onegin and Lensky) were very good in their roles. Onegin did disaffected and cynical very well, while Lensky did superb over the top histrionics. I definitely hearted Lensky…until Onegin shot him. Bastard! Then I decided I liked Onegin as he had a big breakdown. You must understand I can’t watch theatre without falling in love with at least one if not all of the characters. It just can’t be done.

The chorus sounded fab, and moved and acted very well, they didn’t distract from the main action and when it was their turn to shine, shine they did! And there was a very odd chair dance, which they performed admirably – I’m just not sure why it was in the show…

We were front row! It meant I could see all the action, peek at the orchestra, watch as people came from sidestage…I love seeing the behind stage world.

So now, after my bleh moment the other day, I’m fully committed and excited about singing again. (Told you I would be!)

Linky to the show website: http://www.stjames.co.nz/whats-on-details.aspx?id=439 I feel I should point out, that Tatyana is not blonde in the show. Her sister is, but she has lovely dark hair. Now you know.

Actions

Information

3 responses

18 10 2009
Jenni

Off topic, two things.

I want to see you perform this some time, with some guy, I think you’d be really good as Beth πŸ™‚

The other thing is, I was really impressed listening to you sing last night. I know karaoke isn’t the ideal format for your voice, but you were coming through loud and clear and you sounded great! I wish Moon and Back had been on there though, I think that would have suited us better….

18 10 2009
sok

Hey thanks so much for saying that πŸ™‚ It really means a lot! I got warm fuzzies!
Yes, let’s sing Moon and Back next time!!
I am loving that song…I haven’t heard of that musical before, and now I’m really keen to get someone to do it here!
Your party was awesome, I hope you had at least as much fun as the rest of us cos I had SO much!

23 10 2009
Jenni

OK, I only just remembered to check back here to see if you’d replied, and it’s because I found another gorgeous song which I thinkyou might like.

It’s from a musical called Spring Awakening which sounds seriously rad.

Leave a Reply

